PDA

View Full Version : WNG's Barry Dixon

Tim Tackett
12-09-2007, 10:26 AM
The bio is for Barry Dixon. The only student still active who has been with me longer is Bob Chapman

Barry Dixon:
I started my martial arts training in Aikido in 1964 in Haddonfield, New Jersey. I next studied Judo in college 1971-1972 and earned my brown belt. I was fortunate to train with the Kung Fu Grandmaster Ark Y. Wong in Chinatown in 1973. He taught us Southern style Choi Li Fut. He gave me an introduction to study in the Philippines with master Ti Gi Pin in 1974. I was the only non Chinese allowed to train at the Taoist Temple. I learned Northern Choi Li Fut.

Winter 1974 I started learning JKD with Sifu T. Tackett in Redlands. We learned the working elements of Hsing-I, and Pa Kua. I started training with Dan Inosanto when Sifu Tackett took me to the Kali Academy on Saturday mornings. I trained with other students Jeff Imada, and Chris Kent. Tony Luna, one of Bruce Lee’s strudents, trained us. I had the opportunity to spar with Daniel Lee another of Bruce Lee's students and friends. During the week I trained at the Kali academy in Escrima. Sifu Tackett started me on Escrima, and learned some from Dan Inosanto. In 1975 I returned to the Philippines and learned Doce Pares Escrima from the Canete clan. Then 1984 I continued my training with Ciriaco Canete and learned Escrido. I learned my third degree black belt from Doce Pares in their system of Escrima/Escrido. Also I was one of the first JKD practitioners to fight full contact in July 1976. By winning in full contact I learned what was practical and what did not work in the ring.